Lovebirds non-stop

Wow, there is absolutely no stopping this man right now. If you don’t recognize the picture, I’m talking about Sebastian ‘Basti’ Döring AKA Lovebirds. Although this name has been becoming increasingly popular just recently, the Hamburg based producer has been in the game for well over 10 years now, releasing musing either solo (under Lovebirds and Superbird pseudonyms) or together with Thorsten “Toddie” Freese as the superstar Knee Deep duo.

This year alone, we could see two fine releases from Lovebirds featuring the vocals of Holly Backler In The Shadows and Love On My Hands on Winding Road. The former has been collecting excelent reviews from all over the world, which is no surprise to me. From personal experience I can tell that In The Shadows seems to be working on all kinds of audience. Also, The Beat Goes Boom was part of Buzzin Fly‘s 5th anniversary compilation, and we’re about to see many more.

So what’s more to come in 2008 and 2009 for him? An amazing EP on Freerange, another one on Winding Road and a couple of releases on co-owned Teardrop Music. Additionally, a remix of Ian Pooley‘s track made together with Vincenzo. To get into a little bit more details, here’s what I’ve been able to find out so far:

Ian Pooley – In Other Words Pt. 2 – [Pooled Music] – PLD 0186 – Release date: Oct 15th, 2008

  1. My Kicks (Long Version)
  2. Closer (Remix)
  3. My Kicks (Vincenzo & Lovebirds Remix)
  4. My Kicks (Bonus Beats)

Lovebirds – The Rat EP – [Freerange] – FR 113 – Release date: Oct 20th, 2008

  1. The Rat
  2. This Sound
  3. The Rat (Kreon Remix)

The Rat hasn’t even come out yet and it’s already huge. I think it has been featured on every deep house podcast in the past few weeks. The Rat’s bassline sounds astonishing on a big system, trust me.

Lovebirds – Gentle EP – [Teardrop Music] – TD 001 – Release date: Nov 11th, 2008

  1. Gentle
  2. Tuesday
  3. Juicy

You can find out more about this release from my article about Teardrop Music.

Lovebirds – Louder! EP – [Winding Road] – ROAD025

  1. The Night
  2. Louder!
  3. It’s All Yours

I can’t wait for this to come out since the moment I first heard The Night on the Freerange Records Radio Show back in August. It says on the distributors’ site that it’s suppose to be available on Oct 24th.

Vincenzo & Lovebirds – M.U.S.I.C. EP – [Teardrop Music] – TD 003

  1. M.U.S.I.C.
  2. National

Lovebirds – Snary – [Teardrop Music] – TD 005

You can listen to a lot of these tracks on Lovebirds’ Unreleased Sessions on Beta Lounge.

5 Responses to “Lovebirds non-stop”

  1. elkoo Says:

    excelent remix by ‘My Kicks (Vincenzo & Lovebirds Remix)’

  2. Rob Says:

    In the shadows got played over and over at the Houseship 2008 – awesome tracker but they were playing a much harder remix without the vocals – any idea what this one is and where I can get it ?

    • Richard Banks Says:

      Rob,

      Thanks for your comment. “In the shadows” is great and I can’t stop playing it myself. I don’t know about any remixes, but let me point you to the track called “Avlium” released on the same “In the shadows EP”. Although the name can be misleading, “Avilium” is nothing else than an instrumental version of “In the shadows”. Hope that helps. Peace!

  3. Rob Says:

    Richard,
    Thanks for the tip – almost there – I guess that John Digweed and Fund D’Void who both played the track at the top of their sets must have turned it up a notch and added a larger bass beat – maybe they’ll release it at some point – the crowd went absolutely nuts every time it played !

  4. Rutger Says:

    This guy is the best, along with knee deep. German House Legends.


Leave a comment